Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
fontsitze
AAA

Jewish community archive

The originals of the important archive documents of the former Jewish community have been in Jerusalem since 1957. They go back to the 16th century. These documents are stored in digital form in the city archives in Worms.

documents from the jewish community archive (picture from 1947) 
documents from the jewish community archive (picture from 1947)
one of the most popular prayer books in Hebrew: the Worms Machsor from 1272 (picture: City archive Worms) 
one of the most popular prayer books in Hebrew: the Worms Machsor from 1272 (picture: City archive Worms)

An eventful history

The documents go back to the 16th century, and since their discovery in 1877 they have provided records of an eventful history.

The files and documents were discovered by chance in the attic of the synagogue in 1877 and were soon subject to scientific scrutiny. Some of them were exhibited publicly in the 1920s, and following the burning down of the synagogue in 1938, they were confiscated by the Gestapo (the secret police) and taken to Darmstadt. The former director of the city archives and museum in Worms, Dr. Friedrich Illert, succeeded in having these irreplaceable documents returned to Worms, where they survived the war undamaged.

After a lengthy legal battle concerning where they should be kept, a settlement was reached in the 1950s as a result of which the original documents – including the famous Worms mahzor dating from 1272 (a selection of prayers and parts of the Bible that are read out on Jewish festivals) were taken to the Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People in Jerusalem in 1957. These documents, in the form of parchment or paper, are there today.

Digital forms of the documents are kept in the city archives in Worms on microfilm and CD-ROM.

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

JÜDISCHES GEMEINDEARCHIV

Die Originale der bedeutsamen Archivalien des früheren jüdischen Gemeindearchivs befinden sich seit 1957 in Jerusalem. Sie reichen bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurück. In digitaler Form werden die Dokumente im Stadtarchiv Worms verwahrt.

Jüdische Gemeindearchivalien (Foto von 1947) 
Jüdische Gemeindearchivalien (Foto von 1947)
Zählt zu den bekanntesten handschriftlichen hebräischen Gebetbüchern: das Wormser Machsor von 1272 (Foto: Stadtarchiv Worms) 
Zählt zu den bekanntesten handschriftlichen hebräischen Gebetbüchern: das Wormser Machsor von 1272 (Foto: Stadtarchiv Worms)
Schutzbrief des Mainzer Erzbischofs für den Juden Raphael Aron zu Seligenstadt, 1695 
Schutzbrief des Mainzer Erzbischofs für den Juden Raphael Aron zu Seligenstadt, 1695

WECHSELVOLLES SCHICKSAL

Die bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurückreichenden Unterlagen blicken seit ihrer Auffindung 1877 auf ein wechselvolles Schicksal zurück.

Die Akten und Urkunden wurden 1877 zufällig auf dem Speicher der Synagoge entdeckten Unterlagen und bald wissenschaftlich bearbeitet. In den 1920er Jahren wurden sie zum Teil öffentlich ausgestellt und nach dem Synagogenbrand 1938 von der Gestapo beschlagnahmt und nach Darmstadt gebracht. Dem früheren Archiv- und Museumsleiter Dr. Friedrich Illert gelang es noch während des Krieges die unersetzlichen Dokumente nach Worms zu bringen, wo sie den Krieg unbeschadet überstanden haben.

Nach einem längeren Rechtsstreit um den Verbleib kam es in den 1950er Jahren zu einem Vergleich, in dessen Folge die Originale - samt dem berühmten Wormser Machsor (ausgesuchte Gebete und Bibelstellen, die zu Feiertagen vorzulesen sind) von 1272 - im Jahre 1957 nach Jerusalem in das "Archiv für die Geschichte des Jüdisches Volkes" verbracht wurden. Hier liegen die Papiere und Pergamente bis heute.

Das Stadtarchiv verwahrt die inzwischen auch digitalisierten Unterlagen auf Mikrofilm und CD-ROM.