Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
fontsitze
AAA

Warmaisa

Worms (in Hebrew “Warmaisa”) as a centre of Jewish learning and culture

The society with the same name – Warmaisa – contributes to the promotion and preservation of Jewish culture in Worms.

 
 
 
 
Jewish cemetery "Holy Sands" (picture: R. Uhrig) 
Jewish cemetery "Holy Sands" (picture: R. Uhrig)

An important Jewish community

Between the turn of the millenium and the time of National Socialism there was an unbroken period with an important Jewish community in Worms, whose members were closely involved in the history of the city.

The Holy Sands cemetery in Worms is the oldest Jewish cemetery in Europe. It was in use from 1076/77 up to the early 20 th century and has survived without suffering significant damage. This cemetery near the former city wall has many thousands of visitors every year from all over the world.

 
ritual bath, Mikvah (picture: R. Uhrig) 
ritual bath, Mikvah (picture: R. Uhrig)

A centre of flourishing Jewish life

In the northern part of the old city, nestling close to where the city wall once stood, is the former Jewish quarter, and many of the old buildings have at least partly been preserved. The synagogue (with one building for men and one for women) and the ritual bath (mikvah) formed the centre of flourishing Jewish life for many centuries.

There was a first synagogue here as long ago as 1034, and this is recorded on an inscription that has been preserved. A new place of worship was built in 1174/75, at the same time as the cathedral, and a women’s building was added at the beginning of the 13 th century. The synagogue was destroyed in the period of Nazi rule, rebuilt in 1961 and now serves its proper function again, although no new Jewish community has been formed since the war. The women’s bath (mikvah) dating from 1185/86 has survived undamaged.

 
Jewish Museum in the Rashi House (picture: R. Uhrig) 
Jewish Museum in the Rashi House (picture: R. Uhrig)

The Jewish museum in the Rashi House

Immediately next door to the synagogue and in the Rashi House is the Jewish Museum, which was established in 1982. In its historic building it contains documents on Jewish history and exhibits that illustrate the religious life of Jews in Worms. The building is named after Rabbi Salomon ben Isaak, who is known as Rashi.

In close association with the neighbouring communities in Speyer und Mainz and because of its numerous highly regarded rabbis, the Jewish community in Worms had a significant influence and a high reputation, which contributed to its honorary title “Little Jerusalem”.

 

Kontakt

Info-Button

Büro des Oberbürgermeisters

Kontakt

Info-Button

Tourismus

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

Warmaisa - "Klein Jerusalem" am Rhein

Worms (hebräisch: Warmaisa) als Zentrum jüdischer Gelehrsamkeit und Kultur

Der gleichnamige Verein "Warmaisa" trägt zur Förderung und Pflege jüdischer Kultur in Worms bei.

 
 
 
 
Judenfriedhof "Heiliger Sand" (Foto: R. Uhrig) 
Judenfriedhof "Heiliger Sand" (Foto: R. Uhrig)

Bedeutsame Jüdische Gemeinde

Zwischen der Jahrtausendwende und der NS-Zeit hat in Worms ununterbrochen eine bedeutsame jüdische Gemeinde bestanden, deren Angehörige stark mit der Stadtgeschichte verwoben waren.

Worms beherbergt mit dem Heiligen Sand den ältesten zwischen 1076/77 und dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert belegten jüdischen Friedhof Europas, der ohne wesentliche Zerstörungen erhalten ist. Der Friedhof nahe der ehemaligen Stadtmauer wird jährlich von vielen tausend Menschen aus aller Welt besucht.

 
Das Frauenbad (Mikwe, Foto: R. Uhrig) 
Das Frauenbad (Mikwe, Foto: R. Uhrig)

Zentrum blühenden Jüdischen Lebens

Im nördlichen Altstadtbereich, angeschmiegt an die vormalige Stadtmauer, befindet sich das vormalige Judenviertel, das viel von seiner alten Bausubstanz bewahren konnte. Synagoge (Männer- und Frauenbau) und Ritualbad waren das Zentrum des lange Jahrhunderte blühenden jüdischen Lebens.

Eine erste Synagoge bestand hier bereits 1034, wie dies eine erhaltene Inschrift anzeigt. Zeitgleich mit dem Dom wurde 1174/75 ein neues Gotteshaus errichtet, dem zu Beginn des 13. Jahrhunderts ein Frauenbau angefügt wurde. Nach der Zerstörung in der NS-Zeit 1961 wiederhergestellt, dient es wieder seiner eigentlichen Funktion, auch wenn sich seit dem Krieg keine neue Gemeinde mehr gebildet hat. Das um 1185/86 angelegte Frauenbad (Mikwe) ist unzerstört erhalten.

 
Jüdisches Museum und Raschihaus (Foto: R. Uhrig) 
Jüdisches Museum und Raschihaus (Foto: R. Uhrig)

Jüdisches Museum im "Raschi-Haus"

Direkt benachbart davon befindet sich im Raschihaus das 1982 eingerichtete Jüdische Museum. Es zeigt an historischer Stätte Dokumente zur jüdischen Geschichte und Zeugnisse des religiösen Lebens der Juden in Worms. Das Haus ist benannt nach Rabbi Salomon ben Isaak, genannt Raschi.

Die Jüdische Gemeinde Worms hat – in enger Bindung an die Nachbargemeinden in Speyer und Mainz – durch zahlreiche angesehene Rabbiner eine starke Ausstrahlung und großes Ansehen erlangt, was zu ihrem Ehrentitel "Klein-Jerusalem" beigetragen hat.

 
Das Judenviertel um 1760 (zum Vergrößern bitte anklicken) 
Das Judenviertel um 1760 (zum Vergrößern bitte anklicken)

Kontakt

Info-Button

Büro des Oberbürgermeisters

Kontakt

Info-Button

Tourismus