Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
fontsitze
AAA

Jewish Worms – “Stolpersteine”

Exiled, deported, murdered. But not forgotten. In several countries in Europe, cobblestone-size brass memorials, so-called “Stolpersteine”, serve as reminders of victims of Nazism during the Third Reich. These “stones”, engraved with names and dates, have been set in front of the houses in which these people last lived. In Worms, too, they serve as reminders of the fates of former residents.

"Stolpersteine" 
"Stolpersteine"

Memorial stones so that we do not forget

Jews, “gypsies” (Sinti and Roma), the politically persecuted, homosexuals, Jehova’s Witnesses ... the list of victims of the Nazi regime is long. The aim of artist Gunter Demnig’s Europe-wide project “Stolpersteine” is to keep alive the memory of these people. Warmaisa, the society for the promotion and preservation of Jewish culture in Worms, brought this campaign to the city, regarding it as a further contribution to commemorating the events of the “Pogrom Night” in 1938. The memorial plaques were financed by donations and laid by Gunter Denning. The first of these “stones” was set in the Judengasse on November 6th 2006. New stones are added every year.

You can find more information about the campaign “Stolpersteine in Worms“, including biographies, on Warmaisa’s internet site www.warmaisa.de.

 

Overview of “Stolpersteine” in Worms

This interactive map gives you an overview of the “Stolpersteine” in Worms. Click on a “Stolperstein” symbol to receive more information. This map was produced by the local branch of the Social democratic Party, the “SPD Ortsverein Worms-Mitte”, in consultation with the society Warmaisa. It is regularly updated.

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

Jüdisches Worms - Stolpersteine

Vertrieben, verschleppt, ermordert. Aber nicht vergessen. In mehreren Ländern in Europa erinnern kleine Pflastersteine aus Messing, sogenannte "Stolpersteine", an Opfer des Naziregimes während des Dritten Reiches. Die Steine mit eingravierten Namen und Daten finden sich vor den Häusern, in denen diese Menschen zuletzt wohnten. Auch in Worms gedenken sie an die Schicksale einstiger Bewohner/innen.

Hinter jedem der blank polierten Pflastersteine steht ein Schicksal. Diese hier erinnern an die Familie Weis aus Worms 
Hinter jedem der blank polierten Pflastersteine steht ein Schicksal. Diese hier erinnern an die Familie Weis aus Worms

Gedenksteine gegen das Vergessen

Juden, Zigeuner, politisch Verfolgte, Homosexuelle, Zeugen Jehovas ... die Opferliste des NS-Regimes ist lange. Mit seinem europaweiten Projekt "Stolpersteine" will der Künstler Gunter Demnig die Erinnerung an diese Menschen lebendig erhalten. "Warmaisa", die Gesellschaft zur Förderung und Pflege jüdischer Kultur in Worms, hat die Aktion nach Worms geholt. Sie sieht darin auch einen Beitrag zum Gedenken an die Pogromnacht 1938. Verlegt werden die durch Spenden finanzierten Gedenksteine von Gunter Denning. Der erste Stein wurde am 06.11.2006 in der Judengasse gesetzt. Jährlich kommen neue hinzu.

Nähere Informationen und Biografien zur Aktion "Stolpersteine in Worms" finden Sie auf der Internetseite von Warmaisa www.warmaisa.de.

 

Übersicht über Stolpersteine in Worms

Eine Übersicht der Stolpersteine in Worms bietet Ihnen diese interaktive Karte. Mit Klick auf ein Stolperstein-Symbol erhalten Sie nähere Infos. Erstellt wurde die Karte vom SPD Ortsverein Worms-Mitte in Abstimmung mit Warmaisa. Sie wird stetig aktualisiert.