Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
fontsitze
AAA

Luther Room

Worms around 1521, St Magnus' Church and St Andrew's Seminary, 3-D rendering by FaberCourtial 
Worms around 1521, St Magnus' Church and St Andrew's Seminary, 3-D rendering by FaberCourtial

Housed in the former St Andrew's Seminary, the Luther Room in the Worms City Museum presents correspondence, historical coins and crafts objects that relate specifically to Luther's sojourn here. Many of the pieces exhibited in the room explicitly reference the originals in the Luther Library, which are kept in the City Library in Worms.

It also shows the portrayal of Luther's head, designed originally by Ernst Rietschel for the Luther Monument. 

The Luther Room in St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig 
The Luther Room in St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig
Exterior view of St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig 
Exterior view of St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig
The cloister in St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig 
The cloister in St Andrew's Seminary, photo: Rudolf Uhrig

The paramount importance of Martin Luther for the city of Worms and its history, and – by inverse logic – the implications of the Diet of Worms for the major reformer and his teachings, are reflected in the creation of the 'Luther Room', which belongs to the Worms City Museum.

The Luther Room was opened in 1983 as part of the permanent exhibition on the first floor of the City Museum, marking the 500th anniversary of its eponym's birth. It is an educational presentation that uses correspondence, historical coins and crafts objects to accentuate Luther's role in connection with the 1521 Diet of Worms.

Many of the pieces exhibited in the room explicitly reference the valuable originals in the Luther Library, which are kept in the City Library in Worms. A bronzed face mask portraying the major reformer bears witness to the personage Martin Luther and his seminal importance.

Designed by the sculptor Ernst Rietschel in 1860, it is one of the items used to prepare the Luther Monument that was inaugurated on Lutherplatz in Worms in 1868. The monument and the design also paint a vivid picture of the lasting effects and interpretative tradition associated with Martin Luther, his words and his writings, which continue to reverberate into the present day.

The exhibition room focuses on more than the man and the scholar Martin Luther. Instead, it illuminates the local and historical circumstances of the Imperial Free City of Worms anno 1521, as well as the journey and arrival of Martin Luther on 16 April.

 
St Magnus' Church and St Andrew's Seminary as they were before 1689, drawing by Hamman, photo: Worms City Archive 
St Magnus' Church and St Andrew's Seminary as they were before 1689, drawing by Hamman, photo: Worms City Archive

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

Lutherzimmer

Speziell mit dem Aufenthalt Luthers in Worms befasst sich das Lutherzimmer im Museum der Stadt Worms im Andreasstift anhand von Schriftstücken, historischen Münzen und kunsthandwerklichen Objekten. Zahlreiche Ausstellungsstücke verweisen auf die Originale der Luther-Bibliothek, die in der Stadtbibliothek Worms verwahrt werden.

Zu sehen ist auch der Lutherkopf, den Ernst Rietschel ursprünglich für das Luther-Denkmal entworfen hatte. 

Worms um 1521, Magnuskirche und Andreasstift, 3D-Rendering von FaberCourtial 
Worms um 1521, Magnuskirche und Andreasstift, 3D-Rendering von FaberCourtial
Das Lutherzimmer im Museum Andreasstift, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig 
Das Lutherzimmer im Museum Andreasstift, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig
Außenansicht des Andreasstifts, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig 
Außenansicht des Andreasstifts, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig
Der Kreuzgang im Andreasstift, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig 
Der Kreuzgang im Andreasstift, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig

Die überragende Bedeutung Martin Luthers für die Stadt Worms und ihre Geschichte und  -  umgekehrt  -  die Folgen des Wormser Reichstages auf den großen Reformator und seine Lehre spiegeln sich in der Einrichtung des „Luther-Zimmers“ im Museum der Stadt Worms wider. 

1983, im Jahr des 500. Geburtstages seines Namensgebers,  wurde das Luther-Zimmer als Teil der Dauerausstellung des Stadtmuseums im ersten Obergeschoss eröffnet. Es handelt sich um eine museumsdidaktisch ausgerichtete  Präsentation, die anhand von Schriftstücken, historischen Münzen und kunsthandwerklichen Objekten die Rolle Luthers im Zusammenhang mit dem Wormser Reichstag von 1521 hervorhebt. 

Zahlreiche Ausstellungsstücke verweisen auf die kostbaren Originale der „Luther-Bibliothek“, die in der Stadtbibliothek Worms verwahrt werden. Stellvertretend für die Persönlichkeit Luthers und ihre zentrale Stellung steht das Porträt des Reformators als Gesichtsmaske aus bronziertem Gips. 

Der Entwurf des Bildhauers Ernst Rietschel aus dem Entstehungsjahr 1860 zählt zu den Vorarbeiten des 1868 eingeweihten Lutherdenkmals am Lutherplatz in Worms. Denkmal und Entwurf geben zugleich ein anschauliches Zeugnis der anhaltenden Nachwirkung und Deutungsgeschichte Martin Luthers, seiner Worte und Schriften, die bis in die jüngste Gegenwart reichen. 

Der Ausstellungsraum stellt aber nicht allein die Person und den Gelehrten Martin Luther vor, sondern erläutert die örtlichen und historischen Voraussetzungen der freien „Reichstagsstadt“ Worms des Jahres 1521 sowie die Anreise und Ankunft Martin Luthers am 16. April. 

Öffnungszeiten des Museums der Stadt Worms im Andreasstift

(Das Lutherzimmer ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich)

 
Magnuskirche und Andreasstift, Zustand vor 1689, Zeichnung von Hamman, Bild: Stadtarchiv Worms 
Magnuskirche und Andreasstift, Zustand vor 1689, Zeichnung von Hamman, Bild: Stadtarchiv Worms