Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
fontsitze
AAA

Letter to the Councillors

The Worms City Library owns the pamphlet "To the Christian Nobility of the German Nation Concerning the Reform of the Christian Estate" (printed 1524 in Wittenberg) and has therefore been listed in the Memory of the World Programme since 9 October 2015.

Cover of Martin Luther's Letter to the Councillors, photo: Worms City Library  
Cover of Martin Luther's Letter to the Councillors, photo: Worms City Library

The City Library in the Memory of the World Programme

It has been official since 9 October 2015: A UNESCO Conference held in Abu Dhabi resolved to include early Luther writings held by German libraries and archives in the UNESCO Memory of the World Programme. They included the copy of Luther's letter 'To the Councillors of all Cities on German Territory' (Wittenberg 1524; see the information box for a digital reproduction), which is kept in the Worms City Library. This example of Luther's writing was included on the explicit wishes of UNESCO (as a supra-national educational organisation), as it is here the Luther demands a humanist education of all boys and girls (!) of all classes – with the principal goal of enabling them to read the Bible. 

 

In his letter, Luther called on the councillors to build schools and libraries; Worms complied in 1527 by erecting the municipal Latin school – today the Rudi Stephan Grammar School. – The early print of Lucas Cranach and Christian Döring with a Renaissance-era woodcut cover and two cherubs clasping a Luther rose in a medallion beneath the title, belongs to the inventory of the Luther Library, which Maximilian Heyl donated to his home city of Worms to mark the 400th anniversary of the Reformer's birth. This unique collection of early prints – Bible translations and pamphlets by Martin Luther and his compatriots alongside some writings by his opponents – was compiled by Julius Stern, a Jew, leading bookseller and antique dealer in Worms, on behalf of Max Heyl. Scouring the antique books market, Stern managed to assemble the collection in just a few years.

The other writings by Luther that were included in the Memory of the World Programme: Luther's lecture on the psalms (1513-15, lecture notes; manuscript owned by the Saxon State and University Library in Dresden, also the print with the handwritten margin notes and apostils; copy owned by the Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel); Luther's lecture on the Epistle to the Romans (1515/16; manuscript owned by the State Library of Anhalt in Dessau); Hebrew Bible (printed in Brescia in 1494; copy with handwritten annotations by Luther owned by the State Library in Berlin); the 95 theses against the sale of indulgences (single page print, 1517; copy owned by the State Library in Berlin); a sermon on indulgences and mercy, Wittenberg 1518 (copy owned by the Anna Amalia Library in Weimar); On the Freedom of a Christian, Wittenberg 1520 (copy owned by the Research Library Gotha), Luther's hearing before the Diet of Worms (manuscript of Luther's speech on 17/18 April 1521, Thuringia State Archive Weimar); Luther's letter to Charles V (manuscript dated 28 April 1521, Lutherhaus Wittenberg); the so-called September Testament, Wittenberg 1522 (copy owned by the Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel); Luther Bible (Wittenberg 1534, copy owned by the Anna Amalia Library in Weimar);  Luther's hymn 'Dear Christians, One and All rejoice' (single page print, 1523/24, copy owned by the University Library of Heidelberg); Luther's German Mass, Wittenberg 1526 (copy owned by the Thuringia University and State Library in Jena). The Academic City Library in Worms therefore belongs to the crème de la crème of German research libraries that own historical inventories. It is also noteworthy that Luther's German manuscript of the speech he gave before the Diet of Worms is included in the ensemble!

The Luther writings were selected by the Leibniz Institute of European History in Mainz, which for this purpose organised a colloquium in February 2012 before submitting a detailed documentation with descriptions of the copies last year: Dingel, Irene / Jürgens, Henning P. (Ed.), Meilensteine der Reformation. Schlüsseldokumente der frühen Wirksamkeit Martin Luthers, Gütersloh: Gütersloher Verlagshaus, 2014 (Worms City Library: -Mag- W Gs 576).

To the digital reproduction of the Letter to the Councillors

See the Letter (german only)

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzinformationen

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

Ratsherrenschrift

Mit der Flugschrift "An die Ratsherren aller Städte deutsches Lands" (gedruckt in Wittenberg 1524) aus der Wormser Luther-Bibliothek steht die Stadtbibliothek Worms seit dem 9. Oktober 2015 im Weltdokumentenerbe.

Luther, Martin: An die Radherrn aller stedte deutsches lands : das sie Christliche schulen auffrichten vnd hallten sollen 
Luther, Martin: An die Radherrn aller stedte deutsches lands : das sie Christliche schulen auffrichten vnd hallten sollen

Stadtbibliothek im Weltdokumentenerbe

Seit dem 9. Oktober 2015 ist es amtlich: Auf einer UNESCO-Konferenz in Abu Dhabi wurde die Eintragung früher Luther-Schriften aus deutschen Bibliotheken und Archiven in das Weltdokumentenerbe der UNESCO beschlossen, darunter das in der Luther-Bibliothek der Stadtbibliothek Worms aufbewahrte Exemplar von Luthers Flugschrift An die Ratsherren aller Städte deutsches Lands (Wittenberg 1524; Digitalisat siehe Infobox). Diese Luther-Schrift wurde auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch der UNESCO (als übernationaler Bildungsorganisation) aufgenommen, da Luther hier eine humanistische Bildung für Jungen und Mädchen (!) aller Stände fordert - vor allem mit dem Ziel, ihnen die eigene Bibellektüre zu ermöglichen. 

 

Zu diesem Zweck sollten die Ratsherren Schulen und Bibliotheken einrichten - was in  Worms 1527   mit  Einrichtung der städtischen Lateinschule  – heute  Rudi-Stephan-Gymnasium  – geschah. – Der Frühdruck von  Lucas Cranach  und Christian Döring mit einem Renaissance-Titelholzschnitt, auf dem unter dem Titel zwei Putten die Lutherrose in einem Medaillon halten, gehört zum Bestand der   Luther-Bibliothek , die  Maximilian Heyl  aus Anlass des 400. Geburtstages des Reformators  1883  seiner Heimatstadt Worms schenkte. Diese einzigartige Sammlung von Frühdrucken – Bibelübersetzungen und Flugschriften von Martin Luther und seinen Mitstreitern, auch einige Schriften seiner Gegner – hatte  Julius Stern, führender Buchhändler und Antiquar in Worms , ein Jude, im Auftrag von Max Heyl in wenigen Jahren auf dem Antiquariatsmarkt zusammengetragen.

Die weiteren Luther-Schriften
die jetzt in das Weltdokumentenerbe aufgenommen wurden: Luthers Psalmen-Vorlesung (1513-15, Scholienheft, Manuskript der Sächsischen Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden, und der Druck mit handschriftlichen Marginalien und Glossen, Exemplar der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel), Luthers Römerbrief-Vorlesung (1515/16, Manuskript der Anhaltinischen Landesbücherei Dessau), Hebräische Bibel (gedruckt in Brescia 1494, Exemplar mit handschriftlichen Annotationen von Luther in der StaatsbibliothekBerlin), die 95 Thesen gegen den Ablass (Einblattdruck 1517, Exemplar der Staatsbibliothek Berlin), Ein Sermon von Ablass und Gnade, Wittenberg 1518 (Exemplar der Anna-Amalia-Bibliothek  Weimar), Von der Freiheit eines Christenmenschen, Wittenberg 1520 (Exemplar der Forschungsbibliothek Gotha), Luthers Anhörung auf dem Reichstag zu Worms (Luthers Redemanuskript vom 17./18. April 1521, Thüringisches Hauptstaatsarchiv Weimar), Luthers Brief an Karl V. (Manuskript vom 28. April 1521, Lutherhaus Wittenberg), das sog. Septembertestament, Wittenberg 1522 (Exemplar der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel), Luther-Bibel (Wittenberg 1534, Exemplar der Anna-Amalia-Bibliothek Weimar)  Luthers Lied Nun freut euch, lieben Christen g’mein(Einblattdruck 1523/24, Exemplar der Universitätsbibliothek  Heidelberg), Luthers Deutsche Messe und Ordnung Gottesdiensts, Wittenberg 1526 (Exemplar der Thüringischen Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Jena). Die Wissenschaftliche Stadtbibliothek Worms gehört damit zur Crème de la Crème von deutschen wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken mit historischem Bestand. Bemerkenswert ist auch, dass  Luthers deutsches Redemanuskript vom Wormser Reichstag zu dem Ensemble gehört! 


Die Auswahl der Luther-Schriften erfolgte durch das Leibniz-Institut für Europäische Geschichte in Mainz, das dazu im Februar 2012 ein internationales Expertengespräch führte und im vergangenen Jahr eine ausführliche Dokumentation mit Beschreibung der Exemplare vorlegte: Dingel, Irene / Jürgens, Henning P. (Hg.), Meilensteine der Reformation. Schlüsseldokumente der frühen Wirksamkeit Martin Luthers, Gütersloh: Gütersloher Verlagshaus, 2014 (Stadtbibliothek Worms: -Mag- W Gs 576).

Zum Digitalisat der Ratsherrenschrift