Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
fontsitze
AAA

The Bishop's Palace

Worms around 1521, the Bishop's Palace; 3-D rendering by FaberCourtial 
Worms around 1521, the Bishop's Palace; 3-D rendering by FaberCourtial

A drawing by Johann Friedrich Hamman depicts the shape of the Bishop's palace complex, built at right angles as an annex to the north-facing side of the cathedral, as it was before the sacking of the city in 1689. The drawing shows the two-storey residential buildings between the cathedral and St Stephen's Church (the bishop's court chapel) as Aula minor (built on to the cathedral), an enclosed gateway, and what was called the 'Aula major', the largest of the buildings; the latter has a roof structure adorned with bay windows. 

Worms Cathedral and the Bishop's Palace as they were before 1689, drawing by Hamman, photo: Worms City Archive 
Worms Cathedral and the Bishop's Palace as they were before 1689, drawing by Hamman,
photo: Worms City Archive
Heylsschlösschen next to Worms Cathedral, photo: Rudolf Uhrig 
Heylsschlösschen next to Worms Cathedral, photo: Rudolf Uhrig

The 'Saalstiege' (outdoor steps with balustrades, connected to the building) was located on the square in front of the Bishop's palace, adjacent to St Stephen's, until shortly after 1600; this was an important site in the city's constitution, where significant legal acts were held such as the proclamation of laws or public investitures. This site, facing the cathedral's northern portal with its inscribed depiction of the privileges granted to the city by Frederick I Barbarossa (1184), was the most important place of public assembly for the citizens of Worms as far back as 1200, and shortly afterwards it was even used by the author of the Song of the Nibelungs as the setting for important scenes.

The precise location of Luther's hearings in April 1521 is not known, as details of the building's layout remain a mystery and the complex was destroyed when the city was sacked in 1689. Moreover, sections of the complex were refurbished and others added on repeated occasions, especially from the 15th century onward.

Mentioned in records for the first time around 1212/15, the Bishop's palace had been used since the Middle Ages as a residence and reception facility for the Bishops of Worms, their administrators and courtiers. It was also called upon frequently to accommodate travelling kings, emperors and their respective retinues.

 
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzinformationen

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)
leichte Spracheleichte SpracheEnglishEnglishDeutschDeutsch
Schriftvergrößerung
AAA

Bischofshof

Die Gestalt des rechtwinklig nördlich direkt an den Dom angebauten Bischofshof-Komplexes ist für die Zeit vor der Stadtzerstörung 1689 durch eine Zeichnung von Johann Friedrich Hamman bezeugt. Die zweigeschossigen Residenzbauten zwischen Dom und Stephanskirche (bischöfliche Hofkapelle) werden dort als Aula minor (am Dom), einer überbauten Toreinfahrt und der sog. ‚Aula maior‘ als größtes der Gebäude bezeugt; letztere weist einen erkergeschmückten Dachaufbau auf. 

Worms um 1521, der Bischofshof, 3D-Rendering von FaberCourtial 
Worms um 1521, der Bischofshof, 3D-Rendering von FaberCourtial
Wormser Dom und Bischofshof, Zustand vor 1689, Zeichnung von Hamman, Bild: Stadtarchiv Worms 
Wormser Dom und Bischofshof, Zustand vor 1689, Zeichnung von Hamman, Bild: Stadtarchiv Worms
Heylsschlösschen am Wormser Dom,  Foto: Rudolf Uhrig 
Heylsschlösschen am Wormser Dom, Foto: Rudolf Uhrig

Bis kurz nach 1600 bestand auf dem Platz vor dem Bischofshof nahe der Stephanskirche mit der sog. ‚Saalstiege‘ (einer danach mit Balustraden ausgebauten Freitreppe) ein für die Verfassung der Stadt wichtiger Ort, an dem zentrale Rechtsakte wie die Verlesung von Urkunden und Amtseinführungen abgehalten wurden. Schon um 1200 befand sich hier, im Angesicht des Nordportals des Domes mit der inschriftlich angebrachten Freiheitsurkunde Kaiser Friedrichs I. (1184), der wichtigste öffentliche Versammlungsplatz der Wormser Bürger, den auch der Dichter des Nibelungenliedes kurz nach 1200 als ‚Spielort‘ wichtiger Szenen aufgegriffen hat.

Wo ganz genau das Verhör Luthers im April 1521 lokalisiert werden kann, ist nicht völlig sicher, da Einzelheiten des Gebäudes nicht bekannt sind und der Komplex 1689 der Zerstörung anheimfiel. Zudem wurde hier vor allem seit den 15. Jahrhundert immer wieder an- und umgebaut.

Der um 1212/15 erstmals schriftlich bezeugte Bischofshof diente seit dem Mittelalter als Aufenthalts- und Repräsentationsort der Wormser Bischöfe samt ihrer Verwaltung und Hofhaltung, darüber hinaus bei den zahlreichen Herrscherbesuchen der Unterbringung der reisenden Könige und Kaiser samt ihrem Gefolge.

 
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzinformationen